The color red represents the Base Chakra which brings strength wherever it’s found. This color is one of energy, action, confidence, and courage. Moreover, it’s is closely associated with our most natural physical and spontaneous need to endure and the will to survive.

The Base Chakra is the densest of the seven chakras so it makes sense that red is also the densest of all chakra colors.

Root Chakra • Red

1st Chakra • The Muladhara • Base Chakra

Located at the base of the spine, this is the first of the seven chakras. One of the characteristics of the Muladhara or Root Chakra is the energy known as Kundalini. In Hinduism, Kundalini is a form of primal energy located at the base of the spine.

Kundalini occurs after deep meditation and gives you a feeling of increased awareness and euphoria. Some people report the Kundalini experience as a particular sensation of electric current going up and down the spine.

The Beautiful Earthly Qualities

The beautiful qualities of this Chakra are many and some are included below:

Grounded • Centered • Mindful • Trusts Others • Independent • Determined • Secure • Patient • Constant • Ambitious • Passionate • Committed • High Energy • Courageous • Stamina • Spirited

This also has a masculine energy, both charismatic and outgoing. However, it commands and will dominate attention. People find that their ambition is greatly increased when red is present in their lives.

The Symbolism

This video depicts a woman meditating for Muladhara Base Chakra using a Balinese method.

The Root Chakra is symbolized by a four-petal lotus flower and a circle with a downward-pointing triangle at the center. This is symbolic of our need to connect with Mother Earth before all can be well in our lives.

The Order of the Base Chakra

You will find this 1st Chakra at the base of the spine. This is our base for physical energy and vitality. The element is earth for its physical identity and orientation to self-preservation.

The Base Chakra, by definition, naturally provides the basis upon which we move through our lives. This is where we derive our strength to keep going no matter what obstacles get in our way. It is also where we derive our feelings of safety and security with regard to our surroundings or as I like to call it, our intimate environment.

The Order of the Base Chakra

Signs of Root Chakra Imbalance

Do you experience anxiety or fears regularly or do things seem blown out of proportion? Do you find yourself having more nightmares than usual? Physical signs might include issues with the colon, bladder, lower back, legs, or feet.

If you experience a lack of energy and a sense of being ungrounded, you might need to seek to re-energize, clear, or open your chakra. I’ve gleaned the internet for some interesting ways to do this and have listed them below for you.

How to Open the Root Chakra

Open your root chakra by connecting with the earth somehow. Connect with nature in your garden or potted plants on your patio. Be sure to include lots of fresh, healthy food in your diet. Hike, walk, swim, or simply sit on your front porch for a while each day.  But, whatever you do, be sure to include Mother Nature in your game plan.

Find a quiet, private, and comfortable spot and meditate while you repeat the mantra “I AM” silently to yourself.

Also, don’t forget to pay attention to your intimate environment. Decorate with red earth elements such as stones, crystal, or plants to raise your energy level. Surround yourself with red things of the earth to find your balance once again.

Delight and wake up your root chakra with delicious red foods such as red peppers, tomatoes, beets, strawberries, apples, and pomegranates. Yum! ????????????

Try to meditate for Root Chakra in the early morning sunrise or during the evening sunset. This video features root notes at 256Hz. Credits: Meditative Mind on YouTube.

The Minerals ????

As a general rule, red stones offer protection, courage, vitality, stamina, and energy. A few of the red stones to help clear your Root Chakra or to give you more of that daily energy that you’re after are as follows:

Ruby • Carnelian • Cuprite • Garnet • Rose Quartz • Moonstone • Red Jasper • Calcite • Red Sardonyx

Try this simple yet elegant engraved wood tealight block (2.5″) for a small yet powerful ally in your quest to balance your base chakra. This is a perfect addition to your desk or end table for a relaxing moment of earthly balance.

The Earthly Accessories to Consider

Round out your chakra cleansing experience with this aromatic incense designed especially for the Muladhara Chakra Root Energy Center.

Thanks for reading! If you have any questions or have a suggestion, please contact me right away. Also, visit our FB group to meet kindred spirits and post your greetings and information. ????

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top

Subscribe to Beautiful Souls Updates